In the early 1800’s a group of pioneer families settled in a small village along the banks of the HumberRiver. They were millers, farmers, tradesmen, and merchants who came with their families to the new town of Weston. Soon these folk needed a church in which to worship God and celebrate their faith. Two local tavern keepers named Edward and Thomas Musson donated a parcel a land to accommodate a church and cemetery. In 1828, thanks to the generosity and dedication of families like the Mussons, Wadsworths, Grubbs and others, St. Philip’s Church and Churchyard were established on the west side of the Humber River.
The small wooden church was home to these pioneer families until the original edifice was destroyed by fire in 1888. A new church building was erected in 1894. It still stands today with worship space expanded by a beautiful additional built in 1955.
For over 180 years faithful followers of Jesus Christ have gathered in this little church on a hill to worship God and give witness to the Gospel for those living on both sides of the HumberRiver.
You are invited to become part of St. Philip’s family and keep alive this vibrant tradition of faith, service, and worship.